Julia Copus

La Poésie en ce temps
Qui nous sommes
Une asbl, pour quoi faire ?
31 mars - 2 avril 2017
15-17 avril 2016
24-26 avril 2015
25-27 avril 2014
12-14 avril 2013
20-22 avril 2012
01-03 avril 2011
23-25 avril 2010
24-26 avril 2009
11 mars 2009
18-20 avril 2008


Julia Copus is a poet and children’s writer. She was born in London and now lives with her husband in Somerset. Her three collections of poetry, The Shuttered Eye (1995), In Defence of Adultery (2003), and The World's Two Smallest Humans (2012) are all Poetry Book Society Recommendations. The first of these was shortlisted for the Forward Poetry Prize (Best First Collection) and the latest was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize and the Costa Poetry Award. In 2003, her radio play Eenie Meenie Macka Racka was broadcast by BBC Radio 4 and won the 2002 BBC Alfred Bradley Bursary Award.

Her other literary awards include First Prize in the National Poetry Competition and the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem (2010). In 2012, she was shortlisted for the Ted Hughes Award for Ghost Lines, a cycle of radio poems following the journey of a couple undergoing IVF treatment.

This year sees the publication of Julia’s second picture book for children, The Hog, the Shrew and the Hullabaloo (Faber, 2015). She is co-director of the national Reading Round scheme for the Royal Literary Fund, and in 2008 was made an Honorary Fellow at the University of Exeter.



Last night I sensed a taking root
under the bonecage of my heart,
a stirring, shifting; something not
quite of a breath or heartbeat’s weight.

It was the inkling of a soul.
Now I shall have no peace at all
till he’s caught and fastened, nested in
the cradle of my pelvic bone.

Then, in the coracle of my womb,
I’ll carry him gently, every inch home
though the hour is late
in the lengthening light

to the crook of my arm, the bay’s curved shore,
water-lapped, twilit, secure.